Skip to main content

Using Breakout Rooms

Define breakout rooms and assign members

While in a meeting or training session, hosts can create breakout rooms and send attendees into the rooms.

  1. In the Attendees pod, click the Breakout Room View button Breakout room view button.png.
    Note: Only the host sees the Breakout Room View of the Attendees pod.
  2. In the Attendees pod, three breakout rooms are available by default; click the Create A New Breakout button New breakout room button.png until you have the number of rooms you want (the maximum available is 20).
  3. Assign attendees to breakout rooms by doing either of the following:
    • Manually select an attendee name in the list (use control-click or shift-click to select multiple attendees). Then either select a breakout room from the pop-up menu, or drag attendees to a breakout room.
    • Automatically assign attendees to breakout rooms by clicking the Evenly Distribute From Main button Evenly distribute from main button.png. (Attendees previously assigned to specific breakout rooms remain in those rooms.)
      breakout_attendee_drag.png
      Before and after dragging attendees to different breakout rooms

Begin a breakout session

In breakout rooms, attendees are automatically assigned the role of presenter. This gives them all presenter rights such as sharing their voice, sharing content in the Share pod, modifying whiteboards, and adding text to the Notes pod. When attendees are returned to the main room, they revert to their prior status.
Note: All attendees, even ones who sign in as guests, can download shared content in breakout rooms.

  1. In the Attendees pod, define breakout rooms, and assign attendees to the rooms.
  2. Click Start Breakouts. Attendees are placed in the breakout rooms to which they were assigned.

    breakout_attendee_view.png
    Breakout room with attendees assigned as presenters.
    Note: If you are recording a meeting or training session and send attendees to breakout rooms, the recording continues to record only the main room.

Visiting breakout rooms

When breakout rooms are in use, hosts can visit different rooms, including the main room.

  • To visit another room, drag your name to it in the Attendees pod.

Send a message to all attendees in breakout rooms

Hosts can broadcast messages to all breakout rooms. This can be useful if you have noticed one or more rooms have a similar question. It is also a good practice to send attendees in breakout rooms a warning message a few minutes before ending breakout sessions and returning them to the main room. This allows attendees to finish speaking, loading files, and working on the whiteboard before a breakout sessions ends.

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Attendees pod, click the menu icon Pod Options.png, and choose Broadcast Message.
  2. Type the message, and then click Send. Attendees in all rooms see the message in the center of the Connect window.

End a breakout session

Only hosts can end a breakout session. When breakout rooms are closed, all attendees are returned to the main meeting room.

  • In the Breakout Room View Breakout room view button.png of the Attendees pod, click End Breakouts.


breakout_host_end.png

Share breakout room content in main room

After ending a breakout session, hosts can share the contents of a single breakout room with everyone in the main room.

  1. In the main room, choose Pods > Breakout Pods.
  2. Select a breakout room name, and then select Chat, Share, or Whiteboard.The selected content appears in a new floating pod. The contents are view only and cannot be changed or edited.

Reopen closed breakout rooms

After ending a breakout session, you can return attendees to the breakout rooms again. The configuration of rooms and assigned users remains in place for the entire meeting.

  1. In the Attendees pod, click the Breakout Room View button Breakout room view button.png.
  2. (Optional) Make changes, such as adding a room, deleting a room, or moving attendees into different rooms.
  3. Click Start Breakouts.